the story so far…

First of all, welcome. Thank you for joining in the space with me and allowing me this time in your life to fill it with some products of my thought-space.

This project has been a concept in my mind for a couple years, but it is finally starting to fruit a bit. Truly, it’s been a very boring journey so far from a reader’s standpoint, but has been a journey nonetheless.

Lots of study into theory that seems to fall on deaf ears until I start to apply things. Thankfully, my ears are no longer deaf to the teachings and insights theory can bring, but I really took something Victor Wooten said to heart. I don’t remember the exact quote, so forgive me, but it was to the effect of “I play with feeling. Theory is a tool for when you don’t know what to play.” Beautiful. Thank you, sir, for your insights.

I’ve been getting the equipment that I think I will be able to make sound the way I want it to sound. New gear is always fun and it is a dangerous endeavour to acquire more, but as long as you ensure the new piece will have purpose and that you will use it, no harm. I also sell old gear too, so that helps.

I’ve also been doing my best to make friends with similar goals to mine, primarily to improve at guitar and get better at understanding this wonderful collection of instruments. (Hi, Thom. You rock, brother.)

I play a 6-string standard guitar and a 5-string bass, primarily. I have other instruments, but they haven’t been a big part of the writing process yet. Oh and GarageBand on my iPhone is starting to prove to be a lifesaver for drum tracks. (I know, iPhone, kitch, whatever.)

I’ve been tinkering in the realms of reggae (used to be in a ska band, so reggae came easy), post rock, hard rock (Adam Jones-heavy inspiration, love the simplicity and atmosphere), and ambient. I’ll keep tinkering and posting, and I hope you’ll be listening.

That’s all for now. Take care. Peace and love.

byrb -_-

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started